## Redevelopment authority takes ownership of lots at business park

By Rebekah Sungala

## HeraldStandard.com | Posted: Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:00 am

The Fayette County Redevelopment Authority will take ownership of two parcels of land after the developer failed to pay taxes for three years.

At Wednesday's meeting, authority executive director Andrew French said Synergy Development Fayette LLC, which has completed work at the Fayette County Business Park in South Union Township, owes about \$50,000 total in back taxes for two tracts of land for 2009, 2010 and 2011.

French said he met recently with a representative from Synergy and that the development firm indicated they did not have the resources to pay the back taxes.

Authority members voted to accept a deed for the property in lieu of foreclosure, and noted that Synergy has improved the land by installing roads and infrastructure.

"We'll have to pay the back taxes, but we'll gain control of the property," French said.

The two lots of land are currently vacant. One of the parcels is 1.55 acres, and the second parcel is 1.66 acres.

French said the one lots fronts Route 40 and the other is accessed from Wayland Smith Drive.

The authority, he said, will continue to work with private developers to market the property. French said it's unfortunate the economy declined and that Synergy was unable to develop the two lots of land. However, he pointed out the company did have some success at the business park and said he's hopeful the authority will be able to attract an interested party.

Authority member Odilia A. John said it's an unfortunate situation for Synergy but that the authority is acting in the best interest of taxpayers by accepting ownership of the two parcels of land.

In other business, authority members elected officers for the upcoming year, with all members holding the same position as they have in the past.

Kenneth M. Finney Jr. will continue to serve as chairman, James S. Woleslagle will serve as vice chairman/assistant secretary, Paul H. Bortz, Jr. as treasurer, Raymond Polaski as assistant treasurer and John as secretary.